About Us

Mission Statement

"Providing robust disaster mitigation, response, recovery, and public outreach to our Member Jurisdictions: Grandview, Granger, Harrah, Mabton, Moxee, Naches, Selah, Sunnyside, Tieton, Toppenish, Union Gap, Wapato, Yakima County, and Zillah."

Organizational Structure

The Yakima Valley Office of Emergency Management is governed by the Yakima County Emergency Services Council consisting of all three County Commissioners, and the mayor of each member jurisdiction.  From that council, an Emergency Services Executive Board oversees the operations of the office.  The executive board is comprised of a County Commissioner, four mayors, the Sheriff and the Emergency Management Director.  The executive board meets quarterly to provide oversight and direction to the office.  The full council is convened annually.

Member Jurisdictions

Our History

January 9, 1957 the Yakima County Civil Defense Council (consisting of the 14 communities in the County and the County Commissioners) approved a mutual aid pact by which the communities would assist each other in the event of a disaster.  The council agreed each jurisdictions would contribute 25 cents per resident to support the County Civil Defense Office. 

By 1983 the County Civil Defense Office was transformed by the County Emergency Service Council into the Yakima Valley Office of Emergency Management. The updated agency was assigned additional collateral duties that included grant work, first responder training, disaster planning.  The office also serving as the coordinating agency with the Federal Emergency Management Agency and the Washington State Emergency Management Division.