Yakima County WA Homepage

Federal Offices

  1. The White House
  2. U.S. Senate
  3. U.S. House of Representatives

The White House
Washington D.C. 20500


  • President - Joseph R. Biden (D) - 2024
  • Vice President - Kamala D. Harris (D) - 2024

Only federal offices have age requirements above and beyond the age requirement to be a registered voter.

The president is indirectly elected by voters through the Electoral Collegeto a four year term and cannot serve more than two elected terms.


To ensure that all laws are faithfully executed via a system of executive agencies that includes cabinet-level departments.  The president appoints all cabinet heads and most other high-ranking officials of the executive branch, and nominates all judges of the federal judiciary, including the members of the U.S. Supreme Court.  In addition, the president is the commander in chief of the nation’s armed forces and has the power to make treaties with foreign governments, though the Senate must approve such treaties.  Finally, the president has the power to approve or reject the laws passed by Congress.  The Vice President serves as the presiding officer of the U.S. Senate and becomes President in the event the President dies, resigns, or is removed from office.  No person may serve more than two consecutive terms as president.


The President must be at least 35 years old, a natural-born citizen of the United States, and must have resided in the U.S. for 14 years.  U.S. Constitution, Article 2, Section 1

Government Websites by CivicPlus®
Arrow Left Arrow Right
Slideshow Left Arrow Slideshow Right Arrow